top of page
First Slide YCP Showcase 2023 Version 2.png

We are thrilled to release The Focusrite, Novation, & MMEA Young Composers Showcase!


This showcase is the culmination of the Young Composers Project (YCP). Over 70 compositions from across the state were reviewed by industry professionals and MMEA educators. Nineteen compositions were selected to move forward to the masterclass/showcase. The level of composition that was submitted to this project was extraordinary and all students should be extremely proud of their work.

Thank you again to our sponsors, Focusrite and Novation, for their support through this process. We owe a deep debt of gratitude to the people at TI:ME for their amazing participation in the masterclasses. We could not continue to offer these events without the support of our educators who take the time to review and provide comments. They are the backbone of our student events.


And finally, a huge thank you to Richard McCready, the YCP chair, and Dr. Mark Lortz, the YCP associate chair, for their incredible efforts to bring YCP back to life. Mr. McCready worked tirelessly overseeing the project and creating the showcase videos. Dr. Lortz created guidelines for the review process to ensure the values of the program were being upheld.

Please enjoy these amazing compositions by Maryland students!


Jonathan Alexis, Fight Like an Ancient Egyptian

Andrew Donoho, Flooded Dreams

Jennifer Gao, Brink of Time's Wheel

Arjan Ghertner Espinoza, 2000 Forest

Trenton Woelfer, Ascension Reprise

Notation (Large Ensemble)

Adam Azrieli, New Wings

Maxwell Bocklage, The Heir to Avalon

Lee Fregeau, Storm

Bakhari S. Nokuri, Prayers and Tribulation

Notation (Small Ensemble)

Henry Golden, Wanderings

Jesse Kliman, Mourner's Kaddish

Michael Maroney, Snow at Sea

Prithvi Ram, Fantasy in G

Nathan Wilets, Change Up


Ava Beckman, Perfect

Catalina Bump, Age of Discovery

Emily He, Divided

Sophia Sincavage and Chiara Tripodi, Nightmare

Magdalena Steckler, Aphrodite


彼らの2020-2021Young Composers Projectの提出に対して!




Sinking of Tsimtsum - Jasur Cosby
00:00 / 04:06
Fall of the Golden Age - Jasur Cosby
00:00 / 02:31
The Voyage - Luke Zegowitz
00:00 / 02:20
Rocking Chair Waltz - Corrigan Peters
00:00 / 03:34
More To Life Than This (1) - Katherine Stauderman
00:00 / 04:11
Most Wanted - Jack Zeiler
00:00 / 02:39
bottom of page